Cricket South Africa board member Professor Shirley Zinn resigns


CSA’s board has been hit by its first resignation in the aftermath of criticism from several high-profile voices including former president Norman Arendse for the recent crises. Professor Shirley Zinn has stepped down as an independent member of the board citing problems with CSA’s “principles of corporate governance”.

CSA has been under pressure for a while now. It is currently embroiled in a legal battle with the South African Cricketers’ Association (SACA) over its proposed domestic restructure and is facing severe losses – projections are at R654 million – over the next four year cycle.

On the back of all that, CSA revoked the accreditation of five journalists without giving any reason, prompting backlash from the South African National Editors’ Forum (SANEF) and SACA. Major sponsor Standard Bank even demanded that that board “clean up their act.”

CSA has since met with Standard Bank and provided them an undertaking to “urgently implement remedial actions to address stakeholder concerns, including the unacceptable manner in which it treated members of the media.”

CSA’a 12-member board include president Chris Nenzani, six presidents from the affiliates provinces – Beresford Williams, Zola Thamae, Tebogo Siko, Donovan May, Jack Madiseng and Angelo Carolissen – and five independent directors namely Mohamed Iqbal Khan, Dawn Mokhobo, Shirley Zinn, Steve Cornelius and Marius Schoeman CS. The inclusion of independent members came in 2012 after Gerald Majola was forced out because of the 2009 IPL bonus scandal.

More to follow

Source link

Articles You May Like

'Poster-boy' Kagiso Rabada is over-burdened as attack leader – Graeme Smith
Eddie Jones believes Saracens stars will thrive in Six Nations amid salary storm
One year after his son died playing rugby, a father’s fight goes on
Saracens happy for Premiership to release disciplinary report on salary cap breach
'I literally was competing only with white players' – Jonty Rhodes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *