Stirling and Garth named Ireland men's and women's players of the decade



The late Roy Torrens recognised for his “outstanding service” to Irish cricket

Paul Stirling and Kim Garth were named Ireland’s men’s and women’s players of the decade for 2011-20 at the Irish Cricket Awards on Friday night.

Stirling, who was also named as player of the year for 2020, had been shortlisted alongside Ed Joyce, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O’Brien and William Porterfield, and was picked for his “world-class” consistency.

“He has amazing natural talent with power and match-winning qualities,” the judging panel said. “Opening the batting against top-quality bowling attacks, he has an outstanding strike rate which gives the team the best chance of being successful against the top nations.”

“It’s a pretty special award, I must admit,” Stirling said. Over such a long period of time, to come out with something like that… there’s so many great players that have been involved over the last 10 years, so to come out on top of that – [I’m] not quite sure how, but delighted to have received the award. It’s just class.”

Source link

Articles You May Like

Coach, broadcaster, esports icon – Inside the legacy of John Madden
James Madison, Richmond to play in football finale, CAA says
Rory Burns, Ben Foakes dig in to keep Surrey afloat
Serie A giants enter race to sign Arsenal defender
Calling it an ‘important hire for our university as well as for the state,’ Wisconsin won’t rush AD search

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *